Zones of Regulation




The Zones of Regulation is a social-emotional learning curriculum that we are using at Eversley Primary School.

It was created to teach children self-regulation and emotional control and is being used throughout the school.

The Zones of Regulation uses four colours to help children self-identify how they are feeling and categorise these feelings. The curriculum also helps children better understand their emotions. They learn different strategies to help them cope and manage their emotions based on which colour zone they are in.

Additionally, the Zones of Regulation helps children recognise their own triggers, learn to read facial expressions, develop problem-solving skills and become more attuned to how their actions affect other people.

The Blue Zone

The blue zone is used when a person is feeling a low state of alertness or arousal. When you are in the blue zone you may be feeling down – sad, sick, tired, or bored. You are still in control but with low energy emotions.

The Green Zone

The green zone is used to describe when you’re in a calm state of alertness. Being in the green zone means you are calm, focused, happy, or ready to learn.

The Yellow Zone

The yellow zone describes when you have a heightened sense of alertness. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing and you typically still have some control when you are in the yellow zone. Being in the yellow zone means you may feel frustrated, anxious or nervous. However, it could also mean you’re feeling excited, silly, or hyper which is okay in the right situations. Zones of Regulation 2023

The Red Zone

The red zone describes an extremely heightened state of intense emotions. When a person reaches the red zone they are no longer able to control their emotions or reactions. Being in the red zone means you are feeling anger or rage and feel out of control.

The Zones can be compared to traffic lights or signs.

When given a green light (in the Green Zone), one is ‘good to go’.

A yellow light or caution sign means slow down or take warning, which applies to the Yellow Zone.

A red light or stop sign means stop; when a person is in the Red Zone, he or she needs to stop and regain control.

The Blue Zone can be compared to a blue rest area where you pull over when you’re tired and need to recharge.

At Eversley we are clear to reiterate that everyone experiences all of the zones at one time or another; the Red and Yellow Zones are not the ‘bad’ or ‘naughty’ zones. It is not that one zone is good and another is bad, it is how they make us feel and sometimes we might not feel comfortable or happy being in a particular zone for too long. We teach the children tools that help them regulate and move between zones, to recognise their levels of alertness and feelings and feel comfortable and ready for whatever situation they are in.

Step 1: Introduction to the Zones – The children expand their emotional vocabulary, recognise emotions in themselves and others, understand how their state affect others around them and increase their awareness of triggers that lead to less regulated states. The children learn that all of the zones are expected at one time or another. By participating in a variety of activities, students see that they know the Zones vocabulary and can let others know when they use it. The focus is on self-awareness.

Step 2: Exploring tools to calm and alert – The children learn and practise tools that can help them regulate their Zones. They learn how tools affect each person differently and how to determine which are most effective for them.

Step 3: Learning when to use and apply tools – The children learn how to put in to practice the tools they have been taught previously in order to change their state of alertness and regulate their emotions. They are taught that they are in control of themselves and they know which strategies to use and when.